The Perfect Veggie Sandwich.

Oh, and what a meal it was! I just wrote in my previous post how I don’t usually cook for myself or eat alone. Well, I don’t because my 3yo isn’t in school full time yet so he’s always available for lunch and buttery elbow pasta with broccoli and olives is his lunch of choice. Dinner is mostly Indian since nothing else satiates the hubby as well as home-cooked Indian fare. Today, however, the planets aligned and I got to fix myself the perfect lunch. Perfect. My last supper essentially.

I concocted for myself the yummiest veggie sandwich on earth. The one perk of growing older is that you begin to recognize which culinary flavors work together and, more importantly, which ones work for you. Mine today had the simplest of ingredients that created magic when combined. The single crucial thing, I’ve come to believe, that really makes a sandwich is the bread. Our neighborhood baker, Cenan’s Bakery, bakes the freshest, tastiest bread — crusty and soft, exactly as dense as I like my bread to be. Any good artisan bread would work in this recipe, so go with your favorite loaf. Today I had bought a multigrain loaf, but I reckon sourdough or plain white would work just as well.

The Magic Artisan Bread

I served my sandwich with a garden salad (leftover greens from a New Year’s Eve party that never happened, and since I hate waste, I’m imbibing copious amounts of salad this week. It’s called a Loser Cleanse.) but fries would go awesomely with this if you’re feeling indulgent or with a bowl of soup for a really hearty meal.

*Note: As is, this is a one-pan meal because, frankly, if I’m going to wash 17 dirty dishes anyway I may as well feed my family off it. Also, I’m obsessed with the colour brown as it pertains to food. Humour me.

Spinach-Mushroom-Mozza Sandwich for one.

2 slices artisan bread, buttered on one side
1/4 cup shredded mozzarella
2 white mushrooms, sliced (or any other mushroom of your choice)
1/2 cup baby spinach, roughly chopped
1/2 small red onion, sliced into rings
salt, pepper, red chilli flakes, to taste
1.5 tsp EVOO

Heat oil in a small saucepan. Saute onion until brownishly translucent. Add mushrooms and saute until soft, then spinach until wilted. Season with S&P&RC. Remove from pan. In the same pan, toss the bread slices buttered side down. Sprinkle one open face with the shredded mozza. Cover with lid and cook until the cheese is melted and the underside is nicely brown. Slide onto a plate. Arrange the filling on the uncheesy bread slice and cover with the cheesy one.

Bliss!

Collapse on couch and eat to the TV. No one’s watching.

Leave a Reply

