An Act(ivity) of Love.

My hubby just asked me a question I’m not quite I have an answer to: All you write about is food and kids. Is that all you’re about?

Hmm. Well, aren’t you supposed to write about your area of expertise? Of course, I define “expertise” fairly loosely, obviously. Raising kids and feeding them (and us) is pretty much all I’ve been doing the past 7 years so isn’t it logical to be writing about it? Should I be doing more? (I ask this question to myself about 3x/week.) I gave up a burgeoning career in publishing to move across countries with him and to raise our family amidst the constant pressure of an imminent move, and there are days when I regret this decision bitterly. It is easy to imagine (and hard to reconcile) what could’ve been, but isn’t. But mostly, I’m at peace with it, hoping to renew some sort of a career someday fairly soon. In the meantime, I’m trying to enjoy this time with my young kids who still derive pleasure from my company and who, when asked if they’d like to do a fun activity with my assistance, yell an enthusiastic “Yeah!” (or in the case of 7yo V, nonchalantly reply, “Sure, if you want to.”) For now, I’ll take it. πŸ™‚

So, as part of my Foodie Reading Challenge, I’ve been reading the part-memoir, part-cookbook, Dinner: A Love Story by Jenny Rosenstrach. The book itself is a mediocre read — it’s interesting as an outsider looking in but I don’t identify too much with the whole premise. First, I’m not a working mom like the author, scurrying to make it home in time for dinner. Second, we don’t often eat supper as a family meal and frankly it’s not top on my agenda right now. Our schedule is such that dinner is the only meal my husband and I get to eat as a couple (apart from the fact that the kids eat even before he gets home from work) and it’s fine by us for now. Third, most of the book’s recipes include meat, so the cookbook aspect of it isn’t much use for me either. All in all, I’m glad I’m writing about this book here now, because it’s not going to leave a lasting impression on me, I know.

Rosenstrach’s blog, though, holds more promise. Since I’m quite into blogs right now and because it isn’t all about food, I may visit it more often. I was there reading itΒ  today and just when the evening hours threatened to last longer than they actually were, I came across her post from last year about making homemade valentine’s greetings for kids’ class distribution list for V-day. Perfecto! A fun and useful activity for a lazy evening. I was going to go to the store this week to buy some ubiquitous themed pieces of paper that cost some $2 for a pack of 12 plus the price of gas, and instead now I had a shot at making it a fun, fruitful evening that the kids who were going to be doing the distributing would have some personal investment in. And we did! We had a great time, the kids LOVED drawing their friends as THEY see them, the cold evening passed by quickly, and I saved approx. $25 ($2 times 2 plus the extra Dollar Store junk that I would have ended up buying, because who goes to that store and buys only what they need?). Win-win much? πŸ™‚

Here’s our effort:

Handmade Valentines
Handmade Valentines

I was surprised by how much 3yo R was into it, and absolutely amazed by his dexterity and drawing skills! This is a 100% his effort; I merely wrote the kids’ names. Also, in case you’re wondering, that kid in the center has some freckles not the measles. I mean, is it just me or is my kid really a gifted artist?? πŸ™‚

Handmade Valentines Part 2
Handmade Valentines Part 2

Can you guess which one is which boy’s effort? (Clue: V’s 7yo friends not only get a personalized portrait but ALSO a personalized Valentine’s Day message. Totally rad.)

Now all I have to do is tape a lollipop to each card and, voila, a unique V-day greeting the boys will be proud to hand out to their friends on Thursday.

One thought on “An Act(ivity) of Love.

  1. I just got the book from the library this week but haven’t had a chance to open it yet due to the school work piling on… Hmmm, another blogger friend had loved it and put it on a list of her top books for the year. Now I’m really curious as to what’s in it and how it is. See if I can get to it this week or next, and we can talk more about it.

Leave a Reply

