Veggie loaded no-yeast homemade pizza.

Pizza is so easy to make at home that I don’t make it often enough. Doesn’t make sense? Yeah, I’m in one those moods.

We don’t eat pizza as often even though both the hubster and I enjoy it very much. I think part of the reason is that we haven’t found a pizza delivery place we both agree on. Most chains serve oily, too heavy on the cheese pies that are just gross. A few local places we’ve tried but haven’t loved. So my pizza consumption is mostly limited to cool (temperature-wise, not the hip factor) slices served at kids’ birthday parties (I accompany my own invited fiends, in case it is misinterpreted that I like to hang out at random kids’ birthday parties in order to partake of the inevitable Papa John’s slices).

So sometimes we make pizza at home. In fact, one of our favorite summer dinners is a Pita Pizza evening in which, as you guessed, we serve pizza-style toppings on pita bread. If you haven’t tried a pita pizza before, I have to tell you that it’s a light, refreshing, healthy, and absolutely the easiest pizza you’ll ever make. The crust gets totally crispy in the oven, it’s naturally thin crust if that’s your thing, and it comes in a one-person portion size.

Anyhoo, this post isn’t about pita pizzas, much as we love them. This one is about homemade, from scratch, pizza, which is every bit as wonderful. I make my own dough with almost half whole wheat flour, a chunky tomato sauce whose ingredients I can count, loaded with veggies and light on the cheese — just as we like it.

Chunky Tomato Pizza Sauce

Image

Tomatoes (3-4), garlic (lots of it!), basil leaves (2-3), 1 green chilli (optional), sugar (1 tsp), black pepper and salt. That’s all you need for this terrific tomato sauce loaded with flavor. Simmer all ingredients together for about 20 minutes on medium heat until water from the tomatoes evaporates and they turn to mush. Let cool and blend to chunky perfection.

Pizza Dough

Usually I use active dry yeast for breads and pizza dough but I was out yesterday. The resulting dough wasn’t quite as springy and stretchy, also because I used whole wheat, but it was still delicious. You couldn’t make a deep-dish pizza without yeast, I suspect, but thin crust will do just fine without.

1.5 cups AP flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup water

1-2 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp baking powder

Mix everything together and knead into a soft dough. You may need a tad more water to make the dough pliable but not sticky. Let rest in a oiled container, covered, for a couple hours. (If short on time, let it rest for about 10 minutes; since there’s no yeast in there the dough doesn’t need any proofing time.)

Image

Huh? HUH? How scrumptious is THAT? I like mine peppered with red chilli flakes. Got it. Spinach turns crispy on baking. Got it. Less cheese sprinkled UNDERNEATH the toppings. Totally got it.

And. Don’t miss the crust on this one.

Image

Perfectly crisp. I like my pizza crunchy, not really chewy. You can probably guess I’m not a fan of the doughy kind of pizza… I care more about how full it is up top. And this one is gorgeously, perfectly suited for that.

Well, what more can I say? Just… gorge responsibly. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

