Egg-free Chocolate Chip cookies

A friend has been requesting me to bake her some egg-free cookies for a while. I helped her one time to whip up a batch for her kid’s girl scout bake sale and apparently those went over well. So this Christmas she wanted to place a larger order with me. I was hesitant because I’d never baked any in a professional capacity before. I ended up doing it and I’m so glad I did because now I have another recipe in my arsenal!

img_0009

For a paid order I couldn’t bring myself to just hand them over as is, so I dipped the cookies in white chocolate and sprinkles for a vaguely Christmassy look.

img_0006

You’ll need:

250gm butter
1/4c white granulated sugar
1/2c brown sugar
1/4c applesauce (unsweetened)
2tbsp milk
1/2tsp vanilla
1/2tsp baking powder
1/2tsp baking soda
scant 2c AP flour
2c chocolate chips (I use bittersweet, but any kind or colour to taste can be used)

Cream butter and sugar, mix wet ingredients followed by dry. Combine enough to mix; don’t over beat. Drop onto baking sheet or form small balls and bake until browning on edges. Cool completely before dipping in chocolate.

For the totally optional but fancy chocolate dipping, I used white chocolate buttons melted over a double boiler, mixed with just a touch of vegetable oil for a smooth coat. Cover with sprinkles before chocolate hardens and leave to set on parchment.

img_0022

Leave a Reply

