Ultimate gooey, fudgy, glazed spelt brownie

Since I’ve started baking seriously, I’ve become pretty intuitive about consistency and texture. I love that I can now gauge which recipes will work for my family’s tastes and which won’t, really. Since I also reduce the sugar amounts in almost all recipes by at least half the first time I try them, I’ve learnt to compensate with other ingredients (like milk) to achieve the desired consistency.

For the longest time I mixed my brownie batter in the stand mixer. Such a waste of my dishwasher time I’m thinking now. Brownies are truly best made in one bowl without the need for any fancy attachments or equipment. Just mix all the ingredients in the order listed and throw in the oven. Works every time.

Image may contain: dessert and food

Also for the first time I’ve tried glazing my brownies. Um, WHAT was I doing never trying this?! The glaze doesn’t just add something to these brownies, it takes them to A WHOLE NEW LEVEL. A level of deliciousness seldom associated with home-baked goods.

Adapted from Martha Stewart’s spelt brownie recipe
You’ll need:

113g butter
170g semi-sweet chocolate (chips)
1/2c brown sugar
1/2c demerara sugar
2 eggs
1tsp vanilla
3/4c spelt flour
1/4c cocoa powder
1/8tsp baking powder

Melt the chocolate and butter in a double boiler. Add sugar, eggs (one at a time, beating gently after each addition), vanilla and the dry ingredients. Mix by hand until well incorporated. At this point, you can add nuts (I used pecans) or chocolate chips or other additions you prefer. Bake in a 325F oven for about 30 mins.

Glaze: Adapted from I am Baker‘s brownie frosting

Mix 3 tbsp each of soft butter, cocoa powder and milk together until smooth. Add a splash of vanilla. Add powdered sugar by the tablespoon until you get the glaze consistency you want (I added about 3tbsp and had a thickish frosting). Spread over warm brownies cooling in the pan. The frosting will melt and become a glaze that is to die for.

Leave a Reply

